The different levels of the river

Class I

Class 1 represents a calm and regular river, very easy to navigate, with very low slopes and eddies. They correspond to a very easy level.

Class II

Class 2 rivers are more irregular with a few rapids without particular difficulty, medium-sized eddies and easy obstacles to overcome. They correspond to a beginner level.

Class III

Class 3 defines more complex and sporty rivers, with rocks, important rapids, eddies. The obstacles are numerous and varied. They correspond to an intermediate level.


Class IV

Class 4 rivers are more difficult to navigate. Some passages are not visible in advance and therefore require a prior reconnaissance. The course has a strong difference in altitude, large and powerful waves. They correspond to an advanced level.

Class V

Class 5 is for very complex waterways as it involves strong waves, rapids, eddies and a significant difference in altitude. An excellent sporting level and good physical conditions are required. They correspond to an expert level.

Class VI

Class 5 rivers are considered to be at the limit of navigability, they are composed of very important slopes, rapids and obstacles. The stop is almost impossible and the passages are extremely perilous. These rivers correspond to an extreme level, at the limit of the impassable.